Cl.exe not found exception

Mar 23, 2012 at 5:44 PM

Hello.

I'm new in CUDA programming. Every time i run C# project with CUDAfy examples, it throw an exception, cl.exe not found.

I added cl.exe to enviroment variables:

Name: cl.exe

Path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin\cl.exe

But it doesn't work, please help. Thanks a million.

Coordinator
Mar 24, 2012 at 4:54 PM

Add the directory only, not the file path.

Mar 25, 2012 at 4:03 PM

No success.

Compilation error: nvcc fatal   : Cannot find compiler 'cl.exe' in PATH. 

I have added:

Path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\VC\bin

Name: cl.exe

What now ?

Coordinator
Mar 25, 2012 at 5:03 PM

Can you get nvcc working without CUDAfy?  You can try running some of the NVIDIA samples.  It is important to get this working before trying from CUDAfy since it is a wrapper around the CUDA tools and library.

What version of CUDA are you using?

Nick

Mar 25, 2012 at 11:50 PM

Yes I can compile and run CUDA and C codes. 

But when i use CUDAfy and try some examples eg. CudafyIntroduction from CUDAfy website it will crash with error above your comment.

I'm using CUDA SDK 4.1.

Hope that we can solve this problem...

Coordinator
Mar 26, 2012 at 10:52 AM

Okay then we need to think about 32- or 64-bit?  Your OS is most likely 64-bit.  Did you install CUDA for this?  What platform is your project compiling for?

Mar 26, 2012 at 2:44 PM
Edited Mar 26, 2012 at 2:44 PM

Yes i have 64bit OS. Cuda lib path is %CUDA_PATH%lib\x64 so i think it's 64bit CUDA. 

Here's a platform screenshot

Coordinator
Mar 26, 2012 at 7:48 PM

Can you try setting platform to x86?

Mar 28, 2012 at 11:19 AM

I've tried, but same error message.

Coordinator
Mar 29, 2012 at 8:56 AM

In the debug output window you should see the command line that was used when calling nvcc.  Can you post that?  We then need to compare this to the command line used when calling nvcc directly.

Mar 30, 2012 at 7:53 AM