Processing Large Data

Jun 27, 2013 at 7:45 PM
Edited Jun 28, 2013 at 9:05 PM
Hi folks. I'm very new to the world of Cudafy, but really enjoying my experience with it so far.

I am looking for a bit of direction as I've failed (miserably) to find an example which tackles processing large data arrays on the GPU using OpenCL and CUDA.

What I'm aiming to achieve is to implement a Boyer-Moore byte comparison to scan through extremely large files (>5GB) in 300MB segments and return back a number of matches.

My current implementation will only scan through the first MB (1024 bytes) of each 300MB segment. Is there a way to scan through all of the 300MB byte array reliably and quickly?

Code:
 public void DDCommand()
        {
               String path = txtFile.Text;                         //Target File (from interface)
               String searchTarget = "FFD8FFE0";            // Target string
               Byte[] target = GetBytes(searchTarget);     // Convert target into byte array
               uint[] results = new uint[1];                       // Number of Hits
               results[0] = 0;

int chunkSize = 314572800;                      // 300MB Chunk Size
                byte[] buffer = new byte[chunkSize];         // Buffer Creation
                double count = 0;                                   // Number of bytes read
                int chunkCount = 0;                                 // Number of chunks processed

int[] lookup = new int[256];                      // Lookup (required for Boyer-Moore algorithm)
                for (int i = 0; i < lookup.Length; i++)
                {
                    lookup[i] = target.Length;
                }

for (int i = 0; i < target.Length; i++)
                {
                    lookup[target[i]] = target.Length - i - 1;
                }

int lastByte = target.Last();                      // lastByte (required for Boyer-Moore algorithm)