Why is CUDAfy.NET so slow?

Jul 11, 2014 at 1:37 PM
Being a die-hard C# coder I hoped I could use CUDAfy.NET to to harness my GPU's performance without going the C/C++ route.

However, after running the samples from the book, I realized that a release build of C# version of the examples run about 50% slower than the C version.

As an example, on a Tesla K20 it takes <50ms to run the C release build of the Chapter 9 example (histogram) VS 100ms for the C# version.

Why's that?
Jul 11, 2014 at 8:00 PM
Hi
I seriously doubt that the examples fully exploit the gpu's capabilities. They are merely how-to examples, and not performance studies. I know a few things about performance optimization, and I can attest that, on average (it varies a lot depending on gpu and cpu specs, of course), I see performance improvements that may go easily beyond 20x. It depends on the class of problem, of course, so there isn't an easy answer.
As for Cudafy vs cuda in c, there's no difference between both, except when the only thing you do is run billions of kernels that do absolutely nothing, meaning that interop delays become the bottleneck.
Anyhow, welcome to cudafy :)
Jul 14, 2014 at 7:11 AM
Edited Jul 14, 2014 at 7:12 AM
Thanks for your answer!

I think I haven't made my point clear though, or probably you misunderstood me.

The question was, why is it that a release build of the pure CUDA C version is faster by 50% than the C# cudafy version.

I'm talking about the Chapter 9 example from the book.
Jul 15, 2014 at 6:24 PM
If you are seeing those numbers, I think it might be because of:
  1. You're also measuring cudafy's initialization, where the dll is transformed to c and then compiled on-the-fly to cuda, which doesn't happen in native. If that's the case, do the cudafy initialization outside of your performance study.
  2. You're actually measuring the interop cost, or