This project is read-only.

OpenCL Crash occurring when processing on multiple streams

Jul 12, 2013 at 5:46 PM
Hi Gurus of Cudafy,

I come forth with a somewhat annoying issue. I'm working with multiple streams to scan through a file for an array of multiple keywords. When Cuda is used as the target platform, it completes the 19 buffer segments of my test file without an issue and reports back the correct result. When OpenCL is used, it gets 10 buffer segments through and hangs the GPU (violently).

I'm new to Cudafy and parallel computing, so it may just be a "schoolboy error" in one of the functions or methods I use, but I would be incredibly grateful if anyone knows why OpenCL is crashing when executing this code.

(To note, I realise the storage of the arrays on the GPU may raise some eyebrows. It's because the target and lookup arrays are jagged and it was the only method I could think of utilising them.)
                String path = txtFile.Text; // Target File
                uint[] results = new uint[1]; // Number of Matches Found
                results[0] = 0; // Reset results to 0

searchTarget.Clear();  // Clear Search Targets
                GetFileType(cboFileType.SelectedItem.ToString()); // Get Search Targets
                Byte[][] target = new Byte[searchTarget.Count][]; // Translate Search Targets into Bytes
                for (int i = 0; i < target.Length; i++)
                    target[i] = GetBytes(searchTarget[i]);
                int[][] lookup = lookupCreate(target); // Create Lookup for Target

int chunkSize = 314572800; // 300MB segment size
                byte[] buffer = new byte[chunkSize]; // Buffer creation using segment size
                double count = 0; // Number of bytes read
                int chunkCount = 0; // Number of segments processed

int[] lastByte = new int[target.Length];
                for (int i = 0; i < lastByte.Length; i++)